summer haiku series: nature

I intended for this category to be about the natural world, but somehow it morphed into a reflection on human nature.

I.
July’s sunshine blinds
Cloaks me thick like muggy fog
I melt, gleam, glisten

II.
Sensitivity
By nature consumes me whole
Alone I am free

III.  Smile
The predator hunts
The prey cowers, then defends
Don’t be a rude bitch

IV.
Two generations
Of drinkers course through my blood
Second day sober

V.
Outstretched before me
The skinny shadow beast glides
Son of the stark sun

1 thought on “summer haiku series: nature”

Leave a Reply

